1992 graduate - Nancy was a dominate athlete for LHS in the early 90`s.  A multi-sport varsity letter earner. Nancy was named 1st Team All BCSL National 1st Team All Herald News and 2nd Team All Bergen County her senior year. Nancy helped the Golden Bears to a 22-6 record and to the State sectional Group II finals in 1992.

1960 graduate of LHS, Joe played on the varsity baseball and football teams for 3 years.  In 1964 Coach Sferruzza started his career as both a coach and educator in Lyndhurst and served the District for the next 36 years.  In 1975 he led the Golden Bears baseball team to Bergen County and  State Sectional Championships.

1992 graduate - earning 3 varsity letters for softball, and 4 varsity letters in cross country.  Michelle was 2nd Team All County and 1st Team All League as a pitcher in her senior year.  She is one part of the pitcher and catcher tandem being honored at this year’s induction dinner.


​1993 graduate - Vinnie earned 6 Varsity letters in football, basketball and track. His senior year he rushed for over 1,400 yds. helping the Golden Bears capture the BCSL National title and a berth in the State Group 2 playoffs. He lead all of Bergen County in rushing that year and made 1st Team All County and 1st Team All State Group 2.​

​2002 graduate - Melissa earned three varsity letters in each of the sports she competed in, volleyball, basketball, and softball. She was recognized for her athletic achievement in each of her three sports, earning 2nd Team All League and was selected 1st Team three times. Melissa was a dedicated team player and committed student-athlete. 

2005 graduate - Brian was a standout athlete in football, basketball and baseball. In basketball Brian was named captain and earned 1st Team All League.  In football Brian was captain his senior year.  He was a 3 time 1st team All League selection.
In baseball he was also captain and earned 1st Team All League in his  junior and senior year.

1977 graduate. - Jeff set 3 LHS records for track to go along with his 6 Varsity letters, 3 for outdoor track, 1 for indoor track and 2 for football..  He earned Honorable Mention All Bergen County for 330 yard intermediate hurdles and 1st Team All Area Herald News.

Click on the photo to the

right to learn about

our first members

The Golden Dozen

Class of 2016

Induction Dinner and Ceremony

Friday May 6th

Click here for dinner details and to

​purchase tickets

​1955 graduate -  "Benny", noted for his hustle and great play offensively and defensively, was selected Group II All-State 3rd Team, 2nd Team All County and 1st Team All PVC.  As Captain and starting shortstop for the 1955 Bears, Benny was the team's lead-off batter and the spark plug that got things started for the sluggers who followed. 

1969 graduate - George earned 6 varsity letters, 3 in football and 3 in outdoor track. He earned 1st Team all P.V.C. and 1st Team All County in football. In track, George was undefeated in the P.V.C. at 10-0 in the quarter mile event, posting a 50.4 time. He anchored the mile relay team and set the current L.H.S. record time of 3:21.

1988 graduate - Paul was a 3 year varsity starter as a pitcher. The southpaw compiled a 20-6 career record. In his senior year he was 9-3 with 118 strike-outs in 74 innings, and an E.R.A. of 1.24. He was selected 1st Team All League, 1st Team All County, 1st Team All Area Herald News and 1st Team All State Group II.

1967 graduate - Don was a multi-sport varsity letter earner who excelled in basketball and baseball. Along with Robert Fladung Don formed a lethal pitching combination for the Golden Bears. In his senior year Don allowed only 2 earned runs. Don earned All County and All-State honors in baseball.

1967 graduate - Bob was the lefty in the Fladung- Penney one two pitching punch for the Golden Bears.  In both his junior and senior years Bob earned All County, All State and All PVC honors. Bob attained a 21-2 record including a no-hitter as well as many clutch performances. Bob went on to play baseball at Seton Hall.

1950's       Ben Rizzuto

1960's                               Robert Fladung

                 Donald Penney​



                                         George Wallace


1970's      Jeffrey Dembowski

1980's                                       Paul DeSimone

1990's          Michelle Scarpone


     Nancy Galasso


                                 Vincent Sala

​2000's         Melissa Fearon


        Brian Kapp

Coaches     Joseph Sferuzza


               Bruce Bartlett

Bruce was an educator his entire life. Teaching and coaching students in Garfield, St. Mary`s, and Lyndhurst.  At LHS Bruce coached football but basketball is where Bruce`s teams excelled.  His 92-93 team reached the State Sectional finals. In 2006 Bruce was awarded the Howard H. Bollerman award for outstanding coaching in Bergen County.

Lyndhurst High School Athletic Hall of Fame